Keyboard for the iPhone/iPod Touch


When I first started using an iPod Touch a few years ago, I soon started looking around for a bluetooth keyboard or even a keyboard that the iPod Touch would connect to via the main socket. After talking with a sales rep in an Apple Store, I soon accepted that Apple obviously had a VERY tight grip on releasing the rights for manufacturers to produce such a useful accessory! 😦
Now using an iPhone 4 as my primary PDA, my search now came up with LOADS! of keyboards for the iPhone & iPod Touch 🙂 🙂 🙂 Horay! So, I picked up one on eBay, pictured below. It’s not too big and is actually the same length and width of the iPhone! The keyboard I got from eBay only cost £16.98 inc.P&P. It also comes with a great stand on which the iPhone can be mounted in portrait or landscape. The keyboard comes with a soft case and MicroUSB-to-USB charging lead. Although a previous blog about battery life mentioned me having touchscreen typed over 1,100 words into a note file, I now look forward to further long text entries into notes and perhaps emails; but using this great little keyboard. 🙂 

02/10/10 – Addendum… after a lengthly first use, I found the keyboard sliding as I typed 😦 as the underside has no grip, just a smooth shiny finish. As such I picked up a pack of small adhesive rubber feet from Wilkinsons. After sticking one of these small pads on each corner, when in use, the keyboard now stays put 🙂

Leave a comment