“Voice Control” for iPhone


Today for the first time, I tried using the standard built-in feature of ‘Voice Control’ on my iPhone 4. I am SO impressed with the way it works!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂
I was driving and wanted to call my son, so, simply:
1)  Pressed and held in the round ‘Home’ button, after which I was prompted with the ‘Voice Control’ screen, as shown in the screenshot;
2)  I then said “Oliver”;
3)  After a moment, my iPhone asked me for “Home or Mobile?” (if you’ve got just one number under the contact, it will simply dial it, for contacts with multiple numbers, you’ll be prompted as applicable, e.g. Home?, Work?, Mobile? etc);
4)  I relied “Mobile”;
5)  My iPhone then replied “Calling Oliver Mobile” 🙂 🙂 🙂

Absolutely brillient! 🙂 🙂 🙂 A standard feature that works SO well. The voice recognition is very good, but remember to say the name of the contact, the way you’ve entered it! This feature is especially useful for calling contacts whilst you’re driving, rather than dangerously fiddling around pressing multiple screen taps etc, e.g. to find a contact, then selecting the number to be dialled.
Press one button rather than many!

Leave a comment