T-Mobile Android ‘Pulse’ – Part.1


T-Mobile PulseFirst impressions:
Bluetooth – as my new Android is currently my secondary device but I’m using it for my calendar along with Google Calendar, having just entered a new appointment on the Android, I hoped to have been able to send the calendar event via Bluetooth to my Blackberry (my primary device). Unfortunately, in the calendar I could find the send option, Oh well! 😦
GPS Reciever – seems to be very receptive, picked up 10 satellites in my home town 🙂 Thought that with past GPSs, I only ever picked up 6-8 satellites….
Keyboard – a useful way of entering numbers from the QWERTY keypad, is to touch your finger on the letter, then slide it down; e.g. for a ‘1’, touch on ‘Q’ and slide down.
Memory Card – a nice surprise to get a 2GB MicroSD card 🙂 and a nice slip case in the box.
Synchronisation – beware, if you set the ‘Auto Sync’ to be automatic: 1) Google Mail, 2) Calendar, & 3) Contacts, it does use data and a big drain on the battery throughout a relatively short space of time. I now only turn this on when I connect to my WLAN.
Touch Responsiveness – holding the ‘Pulse’ in your hand is fine, BUT unless I’m imagining it when I’ve tried to operate the ‘Pulse’ on a desk or in a car mount (ok, a good safety feature here!), the touch responsiveness seems to be almost inoperable! 😦
Weather Forecast – a very nice feature of using the Android Calendar ‘In-Sync’ with Google Calendar is that you can have a four day weather forecast inserted listed with ‘all day’ events :-), showing your selected town and the predicted high/low temperatures in degrees ‘C’ or ‘F’. Also in the Google Calendar on your PC it shows a little pictorial, e.g. sun, cloud, rain etc.

Leave a comment